top of page
Search
  • 04griffster

Compare/Contrast Fargo Notes and Response

Camerawork

Candidate Response: they note about the crane moving in the beginning of the scene and the change of focus in the first setting.

My Response: I noted the camera angles. These included over-the-shoulder, eye-level, and close-up. I wrote when Pearl came downstairs, they used an over-the-shoulder shot.

Candidate Response: the candidate wrote about the zoom into the washing machine and the shot-reverse shot while the husband and Pearl were talking.

My Response: I also noted about the flipping camera shots during the argument. I also noted in the beginning of the scene I noted that the camera panned across the living room to show the mess that was there.

Candidate Response: they mention the close ups throughout the conversation.

My Response: I wrote down how when Lester hit Pearl with the hammer the camera shifts to her lifeless foot jerking as he continued to hit her.

Sound

Candidate Response: The wrote how the clattering of the washing machine was going at the same time Pearl was talking.

My Response: I noted that when Lester turned on the washer it started to rattle and smoke.

Candidate Response: they wrote down that the washing machine emphasizes the silence of the scene and how it went over Pearl's speech/ "thinking period."

My Response: I wrote that once Pearl realized he had broken the machine she started to raise her voice and insult their sex life and saying how he was not a man.

Candidate Response: they gave the definition of non-diegetic sound and diegetic sound.

My Response: I noted that the music intensified leading up to Lester hitting her.

Mis-en-Scene

Candidate Response: they wrote how there was low lighting and tones of grey and blue.

My Response: I wrote how the washing machine was in the basement which forced Pearl to have to go into the basement to check on it.

Candidate Response: they also wrote how there were slight light highlights on the characters faces and how they were wearing dull colored clothing which they wrote blended into the setting.

My Response: I wrote how the hammer that Lester used to hit Pearl was in the toolbox that was right next to him and how the hammer was the closest weapon to him.

Candidate Response: they also wrote how all of the furniture is highlighted.

My Response: I noted that while Lester was hitting Pearl with the hammer he looked up at the [poster they had hung in the basement and it read “What if you’re right, and they’re wrong.” I also noted that he ran upstairs and grabbed the shotgun they had and started to blame himself for killing her.

Editing

Candidate Response: they wrote how they faded between settings(superimposition).

My Response: I wrote down that when Lester was taking off his bloody clothes there was a cut for every piece of clothing.

Candidate Response: they write that the pace is slow and that it reflects on the mandane atmosphere(long takes).

My Response: I noted that when Lester was looking for a place to hide the hammer the camera cut off right before he puts it down leaving the viewer unaware of where he hid it. I also wrote that when the camera cut to him on the phone there were cuts to catch different angles which allowed his emotion of panic and confusion to come through. 





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page